The Texas Commission on Jail Standards
Death in Custody & Escape

After receiving reports of difficulties in completing and submitting the online forms used for reporting an escape from custody or custodial death, the Commission on Jail Standards as of March 1, 2011, will modify the reporting requirements in an effort to address these issues. The online forms for this process will no longer be available on the agency website and the first step in reporting an incident will be to notify the agency either by email or telephone within 24 hours as required by �269.1(5).

Notification can be achieved by sending an email to one of the following email addresses or by calling (512) 463-5505.

Escape from Custody escape@tcjs.state.tx.us

Death in Custody death@tcjs.state.tx.us

When reporting an incident, please include your name, agency, contact information, and date/time of the incident. If you send an email, you will receive a return email confirming receipt of your message. (If you do not receive the confirmation receipt, please re-submit.) If you call after regular business hours, please leave a voice message and you will receive a return call from commission staff.

Commission staff will contact you to request additional information required to review the incident.

Upon conclusion of the autopsy and/or investigation by the sheriff/operator or any other designated law enforcement agency, the sheriff/operator shall forward a copy of the report to the Texas Commission on Jail Standards within 10 days.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions.