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TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE MEMORANDUM 
#22-03 

 

TO:  All Sheriff’s and Jail Administrators 
FROM: Brandon S. Wood, Executive Director 
RE:   Inmate Handbook Addendum / §251.6 Complaints 
DATE:  March 3, 2022 
 
 
Dear Sheriff and Jail Administrator, 
 
The Texas Commission on Jail Standards is required by HB1545 to adopt a change to §251.6 
Complaints that requires you to include in your inmate handbook how an inmate can file a 
complaint with TCJS.  It also requires that you post this information prominently in the jail as well.  
This change was published for comment in the Texas Register and adopted by our board on 
February 24, 2022.  All county jails are required to comply with this revision by April 1, 2022. 
 
In order to ensure all counties incorporate this requirement into their existing Inmate Handbook, 
we request that you sign the attached addendum and return it to the Commission by March 25, 2022. 
We will attach it to your approved plan. This will demonstrate that you have amended your Inmate 
Handbook, and that it complies with the requirements of HB 1545. 
 
Send in ONLY the addendum. If you submit the entire Inmate Handbook, it will be returned without 
approval. The reason for this is if the entire handbook is submitted, it must be reviewed in its entirety 
to ensure that no other changes have been made. It is our goal to ensure that all counties have 
updated their Inmate Handbook as quickly as possible. 
 
In addition, please denote on the attached sheet where this information will be posted in your 
facility.  Recommended locations are booking areas, holding cells, multi-purpose rooms, visitation 
areas and day rooms.  Inspectors are required by HB1545 to check that this information is posted.    
 
If you have any questions regarding the submission of the addendum, please contact Lupe Moreno 
at (512)463-7815 or lupe.moreno@tcjs.state.tx.us or Jason Ross at (512)769-6976 or 
jason.ross@tcjs.state.tx.us. 
 



_______________________________ County 
 

INMATE HANDBOOK ADDENDUM 
COMPLAINT PROCESS 

 
The following addendum to the _______________________________ County Inmate Handbook is effective 
April 1, 2022: 
 
The Texas Commission on Jail Standards will investigate any complaint regarding a violation of minimum jail 
standards.  If you have a complaint about a county jail, you may write to the Texas Commission on Jail 
Standards.  Once your complaint is received, it will be reviewed to determine if the complaint falls within the 
purview of the Texas Commission on Jail Standards.  Non-jurisdictional complaints will not be reviewed.  If 
the complaint is determined to be within the purview of the Texas Commission on Jail Standards, it will be 
reviewed in the order it was received (emergency complaints will be given priority).  If your complaint has not 
been resolved within 45 days of receipt by the Texas Commission on Jail Standards, you will be provided an 
interim response.  If you disagree with the findings of the investigation you may appeal, in writing, to the the 
Texas Commission on Jail Standards.  All appeals must be received within 30 days after the complaint is closed. 
 
Mail complaints to: Complaint Inspector 
    Texas Commission on Jail Standards 
    P.O. Box 12985 
    Austin, TX 78711 
 
Please be aware that The Texas Commission on Jail Standards cannot investigate certain claims, these 
include:  
 
• Violation of Civil Rights as defined by state or federal statute 
• Criminal acts committed by staff or others 
• Unjust denial or restriction of privileges prior to a disciplinary hearing (visitation, phone access, 

commissary, etc.)  
• Acts by staff prohibited by departmental policy 
• Staff conduct (rudeness or unprofessionalism, etc….) 
• Concerns related to your arrest, your attorney, the judge, or your case 
• PREA (Prison Rape Elimination Act) Complaints 
• Allegations of excessive force 
 
If you have a complaint or concern that is listed above, you are required to use the local grievance process.  
The Texas Commission on Jail Standards will only review to ensure grievance procedures have been followed 
and will only override the decision of the Grievance Board or appeal decision if it is determined minimum jail 
standards have been violated.  Alleged criminal acts will be referred to the appropriate law enforcement entity 
for investigation. 

 
_______________________________________________________ ______________________ 
Sheriff’s Signature       Date 
 
 In addition to including this information within the inmate handbook, it will also be posted within inmate 
common areas to include _________________________________________________________________. 
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